The 4 Main Types of Pelvic Floor Prolapse with Reference Diagrams

The 4 Main Types of Prolapse: (diagrams below)

The 4 Main Types of Prolapse

1. The bladder bulging into the front wall of the vagina (anterior prolapse)
2. The womb bulging or hanging down into the vagina (uterine prolapse)
3. The top of the vagina (vault) sagging down (vault prolapse) – this happens to some women after they have had surgery to remove their womb
4. The bowel bulging forward into the back wall of the vagina (posterior wall prolapse)
NOTE: It’s possible to have more than one of these at the same time.

The 4 Main Types of Prolapse – Reference Diagrams
The 4 Main Types of Prolapse

How is a Prolapse Diagnosed?

During a vaginal examination the doctor will insert a speculum (this is a plastic or metal medical instrument that is used to separate the walls of the vagina in order to show or reach the cervix) into the vagina to ascertain exactly which organ(s) are prolapsing. You may be examined lying down, standing up or on your side with your knees drawn up in order for this examination to be performed.

What Pelvic Organ Prolapse Grade?

Classified on a scale of 1 to 4 to show how severe it is, with 4 being a severe prolapse.
Your GP can confirm if it is a prolapse and if so what type of prolapse – i.e., which organ has fallen down – bladder, bowel or uterus AND what Grade.


You can also join our fabulous womens only private Facebook Group

Fancy a FREEBIE? Download our FREE guide The easy way to get a stronger pelvic floor

Any questions? Just email us at and we will get straight back to you.  


Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published